Minute Steak Dog Fry

We were low on “dog food” tonight and a 45 minute drive one way was not a pleasant thought. I knew I did not have the time to defrost a whole chicken so that meant either something with hamburger or round steak. Since the kids are not fans of round steaks they ended up on the menu.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice {3 cups after cooked}
  • 1 minute steak about, 1-2 lbs cut into about inch squares
  • 3 medium to large carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas
  • 1 medium apple, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp basil
  • Flour
  • Coconut oil and EVOO

I started by cooking the organic brown rice while my helpers took care of prepping the vegetables. The kids are getting to be such big helpers in the kitchen. After the veggies were prepped I placed the carrots in the steamer and cooked for about 10 minutes then added the peas.

While the carrots were steaming I mixed the apple and bell pepper in small bowl with the cumin, basil, and garlic powder.

image

I started heating up my cast iron skillet with about 2 tablespoons coconut oil. While that was heating up I started I rolling the steak in flour, I used about a half a cup.

image

image

Once the cast iron was ready I put the steak in and cooked until it was lightly browned. Then I added about 2 tablespoons of EVOO and the apple/bell pepper mix into the cast iron. Mixing it all together and then covering the pan. I stirred occasionally until the meat and apple/bell pepper were melding there flavors. I managed to have the steamed veggies, rice and meat all cooked at about the same time, win!

image

My hubby decided to trade his dinner for this dish, and his only complaint was lack of some sweet banana peppers. They would give it just a little kick!

image

Leave a Reply

