Sprayer? …or the painter?

Seriously, I am beginning to hate paint.

I always loved painting. Terracotta pots, walls, watercolors…I loved doing it all until last year. The dreaded turquoise. Granted it was a beautiful piece, I loved the finish, but it started out as a nightmare. You can read about it here.

Part of the nightmare was the excitement of using a score questionable purchase. We had gotten a Black & Decker HVLP Smart Select Sprayer on clearance at the local farm & home store. I had picked it up because my hubby is NOT a painter of any sort. I thought it perfect for painting the house. Granted it would take me longer than a “big” sprayer, but it would definitely take less time than 1 woman and a brush. Well I thought it was the perfect time to give that baby a test run. Perfectly sanded and sitting in the garage was that soon to be turquoise beauty. All ready for primer. I checked the viscosity with the little cup and it should have been fine and all I got was glops of paint shooting out. I thinned some more, and still glops everywhere. Now I would like to point out that I can be really good with a can of spray paint and knew to move your whole arm not just your wrist, still glops. After all the frustration of trying to get the other part of the bathroom set done, I wasted little cuss words time on the sprayer. I cleaned that sprayer up and threw  put it back in its storage bag.

Fast forward to today…working on a x-mas present and the primer has to come out.  After getting one side of it painted I start thinking that it would be nice if my paint sprayer was nicer. Halfway thru the primer, I am on my phone looking at Rogue Engineer and Ana White, searching to see what kind of sprayer they use. After an hour and a half getting 90% of it primed and I am ready to go buy a sprayer!

While the primer dried, I started researching sprayers {that don’t need compressors} that I could run out and get on this rainy, Sunday afternoon.

2 thoughts on “Sprayer? …or the painter?

  1. In the beginning, I didn’t think I’d have much use for a compressor…now that I have one, I do use it a lot. I pump my car tires, which needs doing more than I thought living down south. I think the weather has a lot to do with it. Anyway, I’ve used it with my nail gun and wow does that come in handy. If you should rethink getting a paint sprayer that needs a compressor…check out harbor freight. They have paint sprayers super cheap. Like 15 bucks cheap and some even less expensive! You can even use it to paint furniture. Makes the job faster. Best of luck to you! 🙂

    • Actually we have 2 air compressors, and I wouldn’t mind using one designed that way. I have ICD and have to stay at least a foot away from them. So it makes it awkward 🙂 …and my hubby is usually not around when I paint. It sucks.

Leave a Reply

