The Best Fit

It is so hard to find the best fit when you have such an awkward space.

Example: 15’x11′ kitchen with a 3’x9′ bump out, 3 doors and a hall entrance. Blah…and let’s not forget the ceilings are not even 8 feet tall and the bump out has an angle to it so it is even shorter. Again, blah. The awkwardness on top of a “possible” kitchen remodel after the addition is done and a small budget makes it really depressing. Hubby doesn’t want to put too much money into the kitchen now since I have asked for an half remodel after addition is finished…about 8 years from now.

I’m finding inspiration in lots of places; gorgeous planking or shiplap, beautifully detailed trims and fabulous diy tutorials. But when I try to fit them into my space they fail miserably. Pinterest and Houzz offer lots of solutions but do not work with my problems. Normally I can be creative and solve problems like this, apparently not when it is my own house. I want wall cabinets {I only have 2 and no spot for more}. I want 9′ ceilings, shoot 8′ foot ceilings would be awesome. If I have to come in my front door to the kitchen, I want it to be an amazing first impression. Honestly, I  would just settle for it being finished.

Leave a Reply

