Crockpot Dog Food 1

 

I love my pups!

Even when one is in heat and the other wants to release his urges {can we say oy?}… Anyway I have started making what I call “real” dog food for the dogs {3- Harley, Mishka, & Deedee}.

I stumbled across it last year when our beagle, Duffy, was diagnosed with really bad thyroid problems and a guess from the vet that he had cancer. We could not afford the $2-3,000 for biopsy. So I turned to more natural methods. I tried adding more vitamin c to his diet, giving him some kelp + vitamins crumble, on top of the thyroid drug they had given us to try and shrink the mass on his neck. After a couple weeks the growth on his neck had grown to the point where he could not eat hard kibble. I looked at some soft food cans but that got expensive {I’m really picky about my dog food & ingredients}, especially since they were grain free {can make cancer worse in dogs}. Then I started searching the internet for dog food recipes. I found the book “The Whole Pet Diet” by Andi Brown and “Feed Your Best Friend Better” by Rick Woodford. Since I had my own medical crisis in the middle of Duffy’s crisis I never had the chance to try “The Whole Pet Diet on Duffy…time now is now why I have not had a chance to do this the doggies now. If you have a chance I suggest you get BOTH books!

Crock Pot Dog Food #1

I love crock pot recipes because they are soooo easy! Throw it in and done.

Ingredients:

  • 3lbs Chicken {ground, breast or thigh- breast is easiest}
  • 2 med-large sweet potatoes {Deedee is obsessed with them}
  • 8 oz peas {I use frozen when out of season}
  • 8 oz carrots, chopped and sliced
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons wheat germ {Omega-3, Vitamin E, & Vitamin B}

Place chicken in bottom of crock pot and cover with water. Add all other items, cook on low for 12 hrs or high for about 6 hours. Mix well {if using thighs, remove bones now} I love using my potato masher. Tada DONE! Just make sure it’s cooled off before you give it to them.

wpid-wp-1427307027504.jpegChicken Breasts
imageCarrots & Sweet Potatoes
imageBlueberries
image
Peas

imageHere it is all cooked, I also made some brown rice afterwards to stretch it some. Roughly 2 cups BEFORE cooked.

image

image{Mishka lovin’ his food!}

I usually mix it in with the boys {Harley & Mishka} hard grain-free kibble and straight up for Deedee.

I love my new storage system I came up with, ice cream buckets!
image

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Dog Food 1

  1. This is a great idea!!
    My boyfriend and I have two red heeler mixes, and treat them like our children. I have a few questions… about how long will this food keep? and do you have an average cost?
    Thank you!
    Jonna@Lovely Rubbish

    • With my 3 dogs it’s usually gone in a couple of days. I usually add about 1 1/2 to 2 cups to the dogs dry food everyday (they are 80 & 90 lbs each). And Deedee gets about a cup a day, she’s is tiny. If you worried about keeping it in the fridge you can always freeze half for later. The most expensive thing is the chicken. For the chicken in this recipe I spent maybe $10 on it. I got it from a local grocery meat sale and it was $30 for about 10lbs of chicken breasts. Altogether it was maybe $15 plus tax including the rice. If you grown your own veggies or buy in bulk, it could be cheaper. Side note, you can eat it to, my hubby thought this was somewhat bland but good. You can always add herbs to give it some flavor.

Leave a Reply

