Pallet Pleasing

This Xmas I made a few handmade/homemade gifts for family. I had my first experience with pallets, was that interesting.

image

Well let’s just say that the saw-zaw (apparently it is, saws-all or sawzall) is your best friend when taking these babies apart! After a failed attempt of gently taking it apart, the hubby broke out his tiger saw. Worked like a charm!

After a quick scrub in the tub with Jungle Jake (awesome cleaner/degreaser)…they got a smidge polished with the sander. Not too much, we want it rough.

image

Excuse the mess, my garage is a constant workshop of unfinished projects.

After playing around with board placement I got down to the serious work.

image

First I used 1 inch screws that were on the shelf to attach the horizontal boards to the vertical ones.

image

Easy-peasy!
Then I got to play with hook placement.

image

After I had it just right, I screwed those suckers on and whalaa! Rustic coat storage!

image

I absolutely love it!!! I hope my cousin will too! The best part? It cost me a whopping $5.60!

Leave a Reply

