Elbow Grease & Lime Juice

What a wonderful combination! I know that sounds insane. Let me explain, I really do not like using chemicals to clean and prefer organic or diy cleaners. So about 6 months ago I noticed a blue ring forming in my toilet…YUCK! Apparently we have high levels of copper in our water which gave us the blue ring. I did NOT take a picture, nobody wants to see a nasty toilet.
So what does a blue ring have to do with elbow grease and lime juice? Well I have been fighting the blue ring for so long and I have tried just about everything (without fumes to kill myself). I had just about given up, when I started searching again for an answer on the internet. I kept reading that something with citric acid or hydrochloric acid would get rid of it. Well I had tried CLR as well as some other toilet cleaners and diy remedies. They did not do anything. So I was thinking what is a citric acid and light bulb! Lemon or lime juice, which I conveniently had 3 bottles of in the fridge.
After dumping the first partial bottle of lime juice and letting it sit, swoosh, sit, I noticed that horrid blue ring going away. So I dumped the lemon juice and 2nd bottle of lime juice and let it sit again, adding some water so the level was above the ring. Then I drained the toilet and used some barkeeper’s friend to get of the rest of the now very pale blue out. After some elbow grease, the juices, and some barkeeper’s friend my toilet now looks like this!
image

Yay!!! Shiny, “new” toilet! Whew it was exhausting, but so worth it! (And the smell did not kill me.)

This is the recipe I normally use to clean my toilet, it normally would somewhat fade that notorious blue ring.
1/4 cup Dr. Bronner’s Citrus Soap
1 3/4 cup water
2 tablespoons baking soda
1 teaspoon essential oil (I use tea tree since it is antiviral and antibacterial)

Leave a Reply

